Taste the Nation



Nick Hancock


Judges: Henrietta Green, Richard Johnson, William Sitwell

Mentor chefs: Ed Baines, Martin Blunos, John Burton Race, Nick Nairn, Merrilees Parker, Rosemary Shrager, Graham Tinsley, Antony Worrall Thompson

Narrator: Jessica Brohn


ITV Studios for ITV1, 16 March to 24 April 2009 (30 episodes in 1 series)


Another daytime cookery competition from ITV. The novelties for the contestants here are that a) it's for teams of four rather than individuals, b) they're representing their counties.

Each team of four is helped and hindered by a celebrity chef mentor, with the celebs looking after a patch of the country. According to the pre-publicity, the inter-county rivalry added spice to the contest.

If you can help us to expand this entry, please provide as much information as possible, using the feedback form below.


The celebrity chefs, their regions, and competing counties in the 2009 series were:

Midlands - mentor: Antony Worrall Thompson - Gloucestershire, Warwickshire, Leicestershire & Rutland, Nottinghamshire

South West - John Burton Race - Somerset, Devon, Wiltshire, Cornwall

South East - Ed Baines - Kent, Middlesex, Hertfordshire, Surrey

North East - Rosemary Shrager - Northumberland, North Yorkshire, East Riding of Yorkshire, West Yorkshire

Scotland - Nick Nairn - Perthshire, Aberdeenshire, Lanarkshire, Midlothian

"North West" - Merillees Parker - Lancashire, Cheshire, Shropshire, County Down

East - Martin Blunos - Norfolk, Suffolk, Lincolnshire, Cambridgeshire

Wales - Graham Tinsley - Monmouthshire, Glamorgan, Carmarthenshire, Denbighshire

See also

Test the Nation, a BBC participation quiz from earlier in the same decade.


To correct something on this page or post an addition, please complete this form and press "Send":
If you are asking us a question, please read our contact us page and FAQ first.

Name: E-mail:   
A Labyrinth Games site.
Design by Thomas.
Printable version
Editors: Log in